The EEA and the EFTA Court

The EEA and the EFTA Court

4.11 - 1251 ratings - Source

The EEA Agreement extends the free movement of persons, goods, services and capital to the EEA/EFTA States: Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. It provides for equal conditions of competition and abolishes discrimination on grounds of nationality in all 31 EEA States. The successful operation of the EEA depends upon a two-pillar system of supervision involving the European Commission and the EFTA Surveillance Authority. A two-pillar structure has also been established in respect of judicial control with the EFTA Court operating in parallel to the Court of Justice of the European Union. The EFTA Court, which celebrates its 20th anniversary in 2014, has jurisdiction with regard to EFTA States which are parties to the EEA Agreement. The jurisdiction of the EFTA Court accordingly corresponds to the jurisdiction of the Court of Justice of the European Union over EU Member States in matters of EEA law.8 15_Years_EFTA_Court.pdf. 9 See, eg, AG Kokotta#39;s ... 10See Case C300/10 Marques Almeida, Opinion of Advocate General Trstenjak, ECLI:EU:C:2012:414, Fn 25. 11In Case E2/06anbsp;...

Title:The EEA and the EFTA Court
Author:EFTA Court
Publisher:Bloomsbury Publishing - 2014-11-27


You Must CONTINUE and create a free account to access unlimited downloads & streaming