The Fifth Judicial Circuit of Illinois

The Fifth Judicial Circuit of Illinois

4.11 - 1251 ratings - Source

Trace the history of Illinois and its legal systema€”specifically the Fifth Judicial Circuita€”with this historical account written by one of the circuita€™s judges. The circuit was created in 1897 and consists of Clark, Coles, Cumberland, Edgar, and Vermilion Counties. Its judges have sorted through complicated legal questions, and theya€™ve also done quite a bit of maneuvering in seeking office. In this scholarly account, youa€™ll discover details of the Fifth Judicial Circuit of Illinois since statehood, a list of the judges and statea€™s attorneys who have worked in the court, and highlights from various elections that brought notable judges to office. Youa€™ll also learn about the achievements of various judges who went on to serve in the United States Senate, House of Representatives, Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, and District Court. Others proved their mettle in the Illinois Supreme and Appellate Court and as Governor of the State of Illinois. A few were notorious for their misdeeds, including the former statea€™s attorney who shot and killed his successor. Whether you are a lawyer, judge, student, or history buff, youa€™ll be fascinated by the stories, facts, and insights in The Fifth Judicial Circuit of Illinois.Bookwalter had already been serving as a circuit judge in the Fourth Circuit. He died in 1902 and was succeeded on ... 3 State of Illinois Secretary of State, Abstract of Election Returns 1882-1912, 410-411. 4 Bell, ed., Clark County, 632.

Title:The Fifth Judicial Circuit of Illinois
Author:James R. Glenn
Publisher:Trafford Publishing - 2011-02-24


You Must CONTINUE and create a free account to access unlimited downloads & streaming